5 Tips on Improving Perspective With Photography

SONY DSC

I thoroughly enjoy experimental learning. I don’t profess to know everything and in a lot of ways still doubt my work and whether its worth doing or sharing. I’ve taken Art at Tafe, which was enough to give me a taster of different mediums to work with, but we never spent as long as I would have liked on Photography.  I’ve been experimenting with different forms of photography over the last decade and really only as a hobby.

Today’s exercise was enforced on by my darling husband who happily helped me escape the confines of the home. However there was a catch! Inspired by a photography exercise he had done once in high school, I had to shoot my camera from the car as we drove through the city and  my camera set to manual mode with manual focus. 

This allowed me to learn several things about myself and photography. I ended up doing most of my journey in Black and White as it seemed to draw my eye and complement the city.  We probably drove around for about an hour and did make two stops where he left me out of the car to shoot something that wasn’t accessible on the road. But the lesson still totally counts.

  1.  Learn on the fly and adjust  settings. Driving and winding through Perth City on an overcast day meant there were lots of yummy shadows and lighting to play with, but it could change with each turn, which gave me ample practise in making adjustments.
  2. Know your surroundings. Lucky for me I have lived in Perth my whole life and even though our tiny city is growing and changing, I was able to know in my minds eye what kinds of shots I might want to get. Meaning, I didn’t have to miss out on a shot I already knew I wanted.
  3. Don’t dwell too much on the perfect shot. Being on the move didn’t give me a lot of time to whimper over a missed opportunity. Just had to keep going, and save it in my memory bank for next time. I think sometimes people can get too caught up in the energy of one particular shot that they burn out before they can get it. If you spend too much time focusing on that one shot, it might not ever be the way you want it.
  4. Get out of your comfort zone. I usually take pictures of people. Who are still. Or I take pictures of buildings, places, food and objects in a way that I am in complete control to change my physical situation to suit my needs for the shot I am after. Being in the car today, forced to take photos on the fly taught me about being more open to perspective and simplicity. Not being in control of my subjects was a very exciting way to explore photography that I will very likely be playing with again. (like tomorrow even)
  5. What you see is only one part of the whole picture.  When we got home I pushed my SD card into the computer to see what we got. I was concerned that everything would just look like buildings, people and random city crap and to someone else, that might be true. For us, we saw a story about our city, memories of our lives here and interesting bits and bobs to boot!

Perth Northbridge Building

 

**Visit my Gallery**

Leave a Reply

